Your device can be activated/inactivated whenever you want. It will increase/decrease your monthly usage.
Inactive device will keep device registration to your account but cloud connection and functions will be stopped. And also is not counted as usage. But monthly usage will be calculated from maximum usages in your month. So inactive may no affect for current fee.